Ashtanga Yoga

Ashtanga Yoga

Introduction to Ashtanga Yoga

I n Sanskrit "Ashta + anga" is Ashtanga. "Ashta" means Eight and "Anga" is limbs so it means Eight Limb path, ashtanga yoga is based on Yoga Philosophy of Patanjali. The asanas, Pranayamas or the dharana which we have studied earlier or the yam and niyam are based on the Yoga Sutras of Patanjali. Hence, we will acquaint ourselves with the fundamentals as stated by Patanjali first.

History of Ashtanga Yoga

Yoga has its roots about 5000 years BC as described in Vedic Philosophy and Tantras. Patanjali , great sage composed this path into a Darshan(Philosophy) in his Book Patanjal Yoga Sutra. In which he has formulated Yoga as a Eight Limbs or Eight Fold path.

Eight Limbs of Ashtanga Yoga

Yama (Principles or moral code)
Ahimsa - A principle of non-violence
Satya - A principle of Truthfulness
Asteya - A principle of non stealing
Brahmacharya - Continence / celibacy
Aparigah - A principle of non-hoarding or non possessiveness

Niyama (Personal Disciplines)
Shoucha - Purity
Santosh - Contentment
Tapa - Endurance
Swadhyaya - Self study
Eshwar Pranidhan - Dedication

Asana - (Yoga Postures / positions) A stable and comfortable posture which helps attain mental equilibrium.
Pranayama - (Yoga Breathing) Extension and control of breath.
Pratyahara - (Withdrawal of Senses) A mental preparation to increase the power of mind.
Dharana - (Concentration on Object) Concentration of mind on one object and its field.
Dhyan - (Meditation) With drawing mind from all external objects and Focusing it on one point and meditating on it.
Samadhi - (Salvation) State of Super bliss, joy and merging individual consciousness in to universal consciousness. Union between Jivatman and Paramatman. Union of Shiva and Shakti in Sahasrar Chakra (the top of the head). Realizing the Bramhan (pure consciousness) or Realization of God is the ultimate

Type of Yoga

  • Dr. B.K.S Iyengar Yoga
  • Shivananda Yoga
  • Bikram Yoga
  • Artistic Yoga
  • Swami Maheswarananda Yoga
  • Laughing Yoga
  • Shahja Yoga
  • Therapetic Yoga
  • Vivekananda Yoga
  • Lord Shiva Yoga
  • Lord Krishna Yoga
  • Baba Ramdev Yoga
  • Hot Yoga
  • Hatha Yoga
  • Power Yoga
  • Power Sun Series
  • Sun Salution (Surya Namaskar)
  • Yoga Nidra
  • Yin Yoga
  • Yang Yoga
  • Ast Anga Led
  • Acu - Massage

Type of Pranayam

  • Quiet Breathing, Deep Breathing, Fast Breathing
  • Tribandha and Pranyama
  • Nadi Shuddhi Pranayama
  • Ujjay Pranayama
  • Bhramari Pranayama
  • Pranayama from Hatha Yoga (Surya Bhedan, Bhasrika, Ujjayi, Shitali, Sitkari, Bhramari, Murchha & Plavini Pranayama)
  • General Pranayam
  • Therapetic Pranayam